Toyota a Leader in the Industry with the most IIHS 2017 ‘top Safety pick+’ Awards

February 17 2020

It’s easy to see why Toyota, Canada is flying high and feeling good. Once again, Toyota, Top Safety Pick+ is the leader of the industry with multiple awards and some serious recognition for offering clients new and old outstanding features and top-tier safety ratings.

Dating back to 1964 when Toyota Canada Inc. was founded, Canada has seen over five million vehicles sold to Canadians who couldn’t be more pleased with the timeless, safe, and quality vehicles they are consistently offered. As Toyota’s North American Chief Quality Officer, Dino Triantafyllos puts it, “We are Proud that our commitment to developing safe and reliable vehicles resulted in such a strong showing in 2017 TOP SAFETY PICK + awards.”

Time and time again Toyota Canada has paved the way for vehicles that were not only encompassing new features and technology advances, shifting directions with sleek looks and modern aesthetics but newer and improved safety features and ratings just as soon as they could get their hands on the technology and testing to do so.

All the hard work Toyota has been doing has not gone unnoticed by either the public or those at the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) where Toyota was recognized repeatedly. Raking in an astounding 11 awards from the IIHS, Toyota and Lexus saw their vehicles taking home the highest recognition a total of nine times with the title of IIHS Top Safety Pick +.

With Toyota Canada striving for nothing but the best and always meeting and exceeding expectations for comfort, quality, reliability, and dependability, we know exactly how they’ve made such a highly-rated name for themselves here in North America.

Showing true dedication to their craftsmanship, Toyota and Lexus strived to go above and beyond the new, more stringent, criteria put forth by the IIHS for this years’ Top Safety Pick Award. What kind of features and ratings make a vehicle eligible to receive the award with the highest honours?

Features that launch a vehicle into aware eligibility include:

• Improved front crash prevention (Toyota Corolla)

• Improved small overlap crash protection (Toyota Corolla)

• Improved headlights (Toyota Prius)

Ratings in crashworthiness tests ultimately decide who will take home each year’s Top Safety Pick awards, with good ratings in at least 5 categories needed to receive the award. Here are the tests that eligibility relies on:

• Small overlap front

• Moderate overlap front

• Side

• Front

• Head Restraints

• Roof Strength

When considering front crash protection, the IIHS checks to see that a vehicle has earned the superior or advanced rating with attention given to those vehicles also earning good or acceptable headlight ratings.

Toyota Canada has been leading the industry for a long time running. Our citizens and communities here in Canada have been enjoying the perks that come with owning a Toyota for many years. From a smooth ride with the latest amenities, Toyota owners can proudly sit back, relax, and enjoy their added safety features no matter who’s driving, just the way it should be.